Skip to main content

Basic Authentication

Basic Authentication is a manual approach for providing access; admins need to manually invite users via email, and have them set their own passwords. You manually reset their passwords, manually delete the users, and give users various roles/permissions for Frame Accounts, Organizations, or Customers. If you are planning on using Frame's Basic Authentication for your user management, continue reading to learn how to manage your users. If you are planning on using a third-party provider, we recommend reading through the information in the Identity Provider Integrations section.

caution

Basic Authentication should be used for proof of concept, development, and testing purposes only. Basic Authentication does not provide user/password management capabilities (password expiration, password complexity policies, or multi-factor authentication). Frame strongly recommends customers use a third-party SAML2 identity provider for user authentication.

Invite Users

Once you have onboarded your apps, published your changes, and set up your Launchpad – you are ready to invite users. You can use Frame's IdP by following the instructions below.

  1. From the Dashboard, click on the Users page listed on the left. From there, go to the Basic (username/password) tab.

Basic Authentication Users

  1. Click the “Invite User” button in the upper right corner of the screen. A new window will appear prompting you to enter the email address of the user you would like to invite.
note

The system will automatically check to see if the email address is already associated with the account.

Invite Users Panel

  1. Once the email address has been entered, the “Roles” section will appear within the window. Select the role you would like to assign to your user. You can assign different roles for different accounts for this user by clicking the “Add” button. If you would like to learn more about user roles, check out our documentation.

User Email Example

  1. Click “Invite” when ready. The window will close and your user's information will automatically populate under the “Users” list. An invite will be sent to your user where they will fill out their name and set their password.

Reset a Deactivated User Account

Inevitably, your users will occasionally forget their passwords and lock themselves out of their Frame account. Frame's standard security policy requires that the platform locks any user account after 3 failed login attempts. If you are using the Frame (built-in users) IdP, reactivating a user account is simple and can be done with just a few clicks. If you would prefer to have your user reset their own password, send them a link to our end user documentation.

Once your user has been given this warning message, they will need to have their account reactivated by resetting their password:

Deactivated Notice

  1. There are two ways to manage your users in Frame, depending on your level of administrative access. You can either:

    1. Access your users from the Admin page

      1. Navigate to the desired entity from the Admin page.

      2. Click on the ellipsis listed next to the entity name and select Users

      3. Next, click on the Basic (username/password) tab.

    2. Access your users from the account Dashboard

      1. Navigate to the account Dashboard where you normally manage your users.

      2. Click on the Users page and proceed to the Basic (username/password) tab.

  2. Locate your deactivated user from the Users list. You should see that their status has changed to “B” for Blocked.

  3. Find and click on the ellipsis listed next to their name on the far right side of the screen. Select Reset Password as shown below:

  4. Your user will be sent an email with a link to reset their Frame account password.

Voilà! You have successfully reactivated your user's Frame account.

Removing Users

Removing users from your account can be done with just a few clicks.

  1. Navigate to the desired entity you would like to remove your user from. Click on the ellipsis next to the desired entity and select Users.

  2. Click on the “Basic (username/password)” tab.

    Basic Authentication Tab

  3. Click on the ellipsis next to the user you wish to remove from the account and select Revoke Invitation.

    Basic Authentication Tab - Revoke an invitation

  4. A confirmation prompt will appear. Click Revoke in the bottom right corner of the dialog box.

    Basic Authentication Tab - Revoke confirmation

Logging in

Once users have accepted their Basic Authentication invitation, they can sign in using email address and password on our Nutanix Login page as pictured below. Most basic auth users can login at https://console.nutanix.com/ but you can also point them to a specific Launchpad or Account Dashboard instead.