Personal Drives

Frame has built and integrated a variety of storage options into our platform to fit a multitude of unique use cases. This article covers the Early Access Personal Drive feature which provides persistent storage on a per-user basis. This storage space can be used as a cache to store frequently used files that will persist between a user’s sessions.

Overview

Frame’s Personal Drive is a storage solution that provides each authenticated user with individually allocated storage space. The capacity of this storage space is specified by the administrator of the account and can be scaled as needed. The drive is accessible from “My Computer” within the session and appears as the “P” drive letter. Drives are automatically provisioned as new users are added to the account. When users return to their accounts and launch sessions, their stateless instances mount their unique drive. When a user’s session ends, the Personal Drive is disconnected from the stateless instance. The Personal Drive is only available to the authenticated user and is not shared with any other user.

Setup

Setting up Personal Drives for your users is simple and can be done with only a few clicks.

  1. First, from the Dashboard of your account, click on the “Settings” page. If you are using AWS as your cloud service provider, click the “Availability zones” tab. If you are using a different cloud provider, move on to step 2. Under “Availability zones,” enable the “Use a single availability zone” toggle and select your desired AZ (availability zone).
../_images/enablepdrive0.png

Note

Personal Drive’s backend implementation through Frame varies depending on the cloud service provider. The implementation used for AWS requires administrators to specify an AZ because the resources must be accessible from the same availability zone as the VM pool.

  1. Now select the “Personal drives” tab from the Settings page. Click on the toggle to “Enable personal drives for all users.” Set the desired drive size for your users next to “Initial personal drive size” and click “Save” in the upper right corner.
../_images/enablepdrive.png

That’s it! Your users will now be able to see an additional drive labeled “PersonalDisk (P:)” from their file explorer. This drive can be used and accessed just like any other drive.

../_images/pdrivesession.png

Adjust Storage Capacity

Administrators can make changes to the storage capacity settings and adjust their Enterprise Profiles/Personal Drives to scale automatically based on usage.

Initial Disk Size

The initial Personal Drive or profile disk size can be adjusted at any time by navigating to the “Settings” page in your Dashboard and clicking on the corresponding tab (“Profiles” or “Personal drives”). Simply modify the value and click “Save.” The new value will be applied to any new sessions started by new users on your account. The setting will not be applied to any users who have already established an authenticated profile or Personal Drive.

Autogrow Settings

If you anticipate that your users will need to regularly increase their Enterprise Profile or Personal Drive storage capacity, you can set parameters to automatically scale up as needed. To do this, navigate to the “Volumes” page (which will appear in your Dashboard menu once you have enabled Personal Drives or Enterprise Profiles). Under the “Volumes” section, click on the kebab menu and select “Autogrow settings.” A new dialog box will appear:

../_images/autogrowpdrive.png

Here, you can specify the threshold at which the disk size will automatically increase for established users. In the example above, you can see that the disk will automatically go up by 1 GB when it detects there is less than 1 GB of space remaining. You can adjust these values as you see fit for your users.

Delete Volumes

Administrators can delete volumes at any time. Simply navigate to the “Volumes” tab on the “Settings” page of your Dashboard and click the ellipsis next to the volume you would like to delete. Select “Delete.” Please ensure that the volume status is “Detached” before you attempt to delete it.

When you delete a volume for a user, a new volume will be provisioned for that user upon the next session start. The new volume configuration will depend on the initial disk size setting at the time the session was launched. For example, if you update your “Initial Drive Size” setting to 7 GB and then delete a Personal Drive for a user with a max storage capacity of 5 GB, the user will be provisioned a new Personal Drive with a max storage capacity of 7 GB when they start a new session.

Manage Backups

If you would like to implement backups for your volumes, check out the Manage Backups section of the documentation.