Enterprise Profiles

The Enterprise Profiles feature collects user profile data on session end and saves it to a secure disk tied to a specific Active Directory user. When that user logs into a Xi Frame session using their Active Directory credentials, their secure profile disk is automatically attached to the virtual machine and made available to their session. This feature allows Frame to provide seamless per-user customization without losing the management benefits of stateless instances.

Requirements

  • Organizations who wish to utilize Enterprise Profiles must first setup and establish Domain Joined Instances for their Xi Frame account.
  • Enterprise Profiles will only work with Domain Joined accounts that require users to log in with their domain user account credentials.
  • The drive letters U: and B: cannot be in use, as these drive letters are required for the backend implementation of Enterprise Profiles.
  • Administrators must set capacity and successfully complete a publish before enabling Enterprise Profiles.

Enable Enterprise Profiles

  1. First, from the Dashboard of your account, click on the “Settings” page. If you are using AWS as your cloud service provider, click the “Availability zones” tab. If you are using a different cloud provider, move on to step 2. Under “Availability zones,” enable the “Use a single availability zone” toggle and select your desired AZ (availability zone).

    ../_images/enablepdrive0.png

    Note

    Enterprise Profile’s backend implementation through Frame varies depending on the cloud service provider. The implementation used for AWS requires administrators to specify an AZ because the resources must be accessible from the same availability zone as the VM pool.

  2. Now select the “Profiles” tab from the Settings page. Click on the “Enterprise Profiles” radio button. Set the desired profile disk size for your users next to “Initial profile size” and click “Save” in the upper right corner.

    ../_images/Entp1.png

That’s it! You have successfully enabled Enterprise Profiles for your Frame account.

Enterprise Profiles will persist any items that are saved in the %USERPROFILE% location. The default %USERPROFILE% location on Frame is C:\Users\[user_name]. Granular configuration options are currently under development and will be released in the near future.

Adjust Storage Capacity

Administrators can make changes to the storage capacity settings and adjust their Enterprise Profiles/Personal Drives to scale automatically based on usage.

Initial Disk Size

The initial Personal Drive or profile disk size can be adjusted at any time by navigating to the “Settings” page in your Dashboard and clicking on the corresponding tab (“Profiles” or “Personal drives”). Simply modify the value and click “Save.” The new value will be applied to any new sessions started by new users on your account. The setting will not be applied to any users who have already established an authenticated profile or Personal Drive.

Autogrow Settings

If you anticipate that your users will need to regularly increase their profile or Personal Drive storage capacity, you can set parameters to automatically scale up as needed. To do this, navigate to the “Volumes” page (which will appear in your Dashboard menu once you have enabled Enterprise Profiles or Personal Drives). Under the “Volumes” section, click on the kebab menu and select “Autogrow settings.” A new dialog box will appear:

../_images/autogrowpdrive.png

Here, you can specify the threshold at which the disk size will automatically increase for established users. In the example above, you can see that the disk will automatically go up by 1 GB when it detects there is less than 1 GB of space remaining. You can adjust these values as you see fit for your users.

Delete Volumes

Administrators can delete volumes at any time. Simply navigate to the “Volumes” tab on the “Settings” page of your Dashboard and click the ellipsis next to the volume you would like to delete. Select “Delete.” Please ensure that the volume status is “Detached” before you attempt to delete it.

When you delete a volume for a user, a new volume will be provisioned for that user upon the next session start. The new volume configuration will depend on the initial disk size setting at the time the session was launched. For example, if you update your “Initial Drive Size” setting to 7 GB and then delete a Personal Drive for a user with a max storage capacity of 5 GB, the user will be provisioned a new Personal Drive with a max storage capacity of 7 GB when they start a new session.

Manage Backups

If you would like to implement backups for your volumes, check out the Manage Backups section of Xi Frame documentation.