Enterprise Profiles

The Enterprise Profiles feature collects user profile data on session end and saves it to a secure disk tied to a specific Frame user (based on IdP) and Frame Account (an Enterprise Profile cannot be shared across multiple Frame Accounts). When that user logs in to a Frame session, their secure profile disk is automatically attached to the virtual machine and made available to their session. This feature allows Frame to provide seamless per-user customization without losing the management benefits of stateless instances.

If your organization’s use-case requires the same user’s profile be accessible across multiple Frame accounts, third-party profile solutions such as FSLogix, Liquidware ProfileUnity, or Windows roaming profiles can be used. Organizations wishing to leverage one of these third party solutions will also need to configure Domain Joined Instances and ensure that the “Enterprise Profiles” button in the associated accounts’ Dashboards (Dashboard> Settings> Profiles) is set to “None.”

Requirements

  • Enterprise Profiles can be used in both Windows Domain Joined and non-Domain joined accounts. If an account is joined to a domain, users must log in to the Frame instance using their Active Directory credentials.

    Warning

    For Frame accounts that are domain-joined, a user who logs in to a Frame instance using two or more Active Directory users, while using the same Frame user account, can corrupt their user profile stored in the Profile Disk. Each unique Frame user (uniquely identified by the combination of the identity provider and email address) must login to their Frame sessions using only one Active Directory user account.

  • The drive letters U: and B: cannot be in use, as these drive letters are required for the backend implementation of Enterprise Profiles.

  • Administrators must set capacity and successfully complete a publish before enabling Enterprise Profiles, regardless of whether the Frame account is configured to be domain-joined or not domain-joined.

    Note

    Enabling Enterprise Profiles will increase the time required to establish a Frame session. When a user starts their first Frame session after Enterprise Profiles have been enabled, the time to get to that session may be increased by up to a minute; this is because their Enterprise Profile volume must be created, encrypted, and formatted on that session start. Subsequent sessions will be much faster, but still may be upwards of 10 seconds slower than sessions without Enterprise Profiles, due to timing constraints from the Cloud Provider for attaching volumes to virtual machines. This behavior is normal and expected.

Enable Enterprise Profiles

  1. First, from the Dashboard of your account, click on the “Settings” page. If you are using AWS as your cloud service provider, click the “Availability zones” tab. If you are using a different cloud provider, continue on to step 2. Under “Availability zones,” enable the “Use a single availability zone” toggle and select your desired AZ (availability zone).

    ../../_images/enablepdrive0.png

    Note

    Enterprise Profile’s backend implementation through Frame varies depending on the cloud service provider. The implementation used for AWS requires administrators to specify an AZ because the Elastic Block Storage (EBS) resources must be accessible from the same availability zone as the VM pool.

  2. Now select the “Profiles” tab from the Settings page. Click on the “Enterprise Profiles” radio button. Set the desired profile disk size for your users next to “Initial profile size” and click “Save” in the upper right corner.

    ../../_images/Entp1.png
  3. If Domain Settings are not configured and the account is not joined to a domain, please make certain that the Server version on the Sandbox is 7.18.4.0 or higher and publish after enabling Enterprise Profiles.

That’s it! You have successfully enabled Enterprise Profiles for your Frame account.

Enterprise Profiles will persist any items that are saved in the %USERPROFILE% location. The default %USERPROFILE% location on Frame is C:\Users\[user_name]. [user_name] will be:

  • Domain-joined instances with Windows user login: Domain User (e.g. jsmith)

  • Domain-joined instances with Windows user login disabled: FrameUser, a local Windows user

  • Non-domain-joined instances: FrameUser, a local Windows user

Adjust Storage Capacity

Administrators can make changes to the storage capacity settings and adjust their users’ Enterprise Profile disks to scale automatically based on usage.

Initial Disk Size

The initial profile disk size can be adjusted at any time by navigating to the “Settings” page in your Dashboard and clicking on the corresponding tab (“Profiles”). Simply modify the value and click “Save.” The new value will be applied to any new sessions started by new users on your account. The setting will not be applied to any users who have a profile disk.

Autogrow Settings

If you anticipate that your users will need to regularly increase their profile storage capacity, you can set parameters to automatically scale up as needed. To do this, navigate to the “Volumes” page (which will appear in your Dashboard menu once you have enabled Enterprise Profiles or Personal Drives). Under the “Volumes” section, click on the kebab menu and select “Autogrow settings.” A new dialog box will appear:

../../_images/autogrowpdrive.png

Here, you can specify the threshold at which the disk size will automatically increase for established users. In the example above, you can see that the disk will automatically go up by 1 GB when it detects there is less than 1 GB of space remaining. You can adjust these values as you see fit for your users.

Delete Volumes

Administrators can delete volumes at any time. Simply navigate to the “Volumes” tab on the “Settings” page of your Dashboard and click the ellipsis next to the volume you would like to delete. Select “Delete.” Please ensure that the volume status is “Detached” before you attempt to delete it.

When you delete a volume for a user, a new volume will be provisioned for that user upon the next session start. The new volume configuration will depend on the initial disk size setting at the time the session was launched. For example, if you update your “Initial Drive Size” setting to 7 GB and then delete a profile disk for a user, the user will be provisioned a new profile disk with a max storage capacity of 7 GB when they start a new session.

Profile Disk Exclusions

Frame account administrators can exclude folders from the user’s enterprise profile disk. To implement exclusion rules, Frame administrators will need to implement the rules in the form of a PowerShell script using the Add-ProfileDiskExclusion cmdlet. This capability is supported in Frame Guest Agent 8.0 or greater.

Add-ProfileDiskExclusion -SourcePath ``path_to_folder_to_exclude`` -TargetPath ``path_to_temp_folder``
  • path_to_folder_to_exclude would be a folder which is in %USERPROFILE%. If you have multiple folders to exclude, you can invoke the cmdlet for each of the folders.

  • path_to_temp_folder would be a path to an existing temporary folder.

Refer to Exclusion Rules for Enterprise Profiles that explains how a custom pre-session script can be implemented using the cmdlet.

Manage Backups

If you would like to implement backups for your volumes, check out the Manage Backups section of Frame documentation.

Troubleshooting

We can’t sign into your account error

If a user sees this Windows message after logging into their domain and the Frame account is enabled with enterprise profiles, verify the user has not logged into their Frame sessions with more than one Windows domain user account.

../../_images/ep-2ADusers.png